Collision Brings an Early end to Race One


Steve Myberg in his Anderson-BRC in practiceThe first race of the Rockpress Australian Superkart Championship was halted after a collision between Steve Myberg (Anderson-BRC) and Tony Lappas (Wizzer Engines/Superkarts Evolution SKE-BRC). With only two laps completed the race was declared a non-race with no points awarded.

Lappas had made a good start but the kart became unstable under braking in turn 2. Myberg hit the rear of Lappas SKE. Lappas was taken to the medical centre then transferred to hospital as a precaution for any further treatment. Myberg is fine and the Wetsern Australian collective of race teams are working to get Myberg's Anderson Maverick back into condition to race tomorrow.

Gary Pegoraro (Dunlop Kartsport/BRC Engines Anderson-BRC) had made the best of the start and was leading when the race came under control from the safety car after the first lap. Ilya Harpas was in second from Kristian Stebbing and Matt Bass. Jason Akermanis had made a flying start in his Anderson, his handling issues fixed. Akermanis had over taken five karts on the opening lap to improve from twelfth to seventh, his pace on that opening lap was ominous for championship considerations.

Russell Jamieson nipped up a cylinder in his DEA engine. The red-flag has seen Jamieson lose no ground in the points race, but now has less time in which to recover. Stuart Kostera did not take the start with the engine unable to rev in fifth and sixth gear. McIlveen too had engine problems and did not complete the first lap. Sam Zavaglia broke an upright in his Stockman MR2 after a collision with Kristian Stebbing under brakes into MG Corner. Stebbing had no damage.

Martin Latta out-launched Dan Lewis in 250 Nationals, Lewis was slow away and had to fight his way back into second place. In the 125s Tim Philp was blighted by a slipping clutch as Garry Haywood led the field around.

The Rockpress Australian Superkart Championship will conclude tomorrow after three races. The three races will be streamed live on Nationals TV at:
The first race of the day will be held at 9:20am AEST with the grid to revert to qualifying order.