Lap record falls as Jamieson wins Race 2


Russell Jamieson lowered his own lap recordRussell Jamieson lowered his own Sydney Motorsport Park lap record to 1:28.1409 as he raced to his second race victory of the Rockpress Australian Superkart Championship weekend ahead of Warren McIlveen and Gary Pegoraro.

Karl Wilson climbed onto the tail of Pegoraro after a safety car restart allowing McIlveen to pull clear in second place but there was no catching Jamieson.

The safety car was called after Brendan Luneman crashed exitting turn five, bending the right rear corner of his Anderson Maverick. Luneman was not hurt, but repairing the car will depend on spares availability with a crash bar, axle, rim and bearings to replace.

Jason Smith finished fifth ahead of Ilya Harpas who had new tyres today to cure yesterdays fading rubber, Carlo Chermaz, Brett Purdie, Anton Stevens (who acquired a small water seal leak) and Matt Bass.

AFL star Jason Akermanis much improved in race 2Dalton Rowell struck back after yesterdays problems (one broken ignition wire) to win 250 National from Jason Akermanis with a repaired exhaust and John Pellicano.

Gary Haywood won 125cc from Jeff Reed who led a pack of Tim Philp, Paul Campbell, Lindsay Jamieson and Lee Vella.