Pegoraro Takes Pole


Gary Pegoraro Secures Pole PositionGary Pegoraro inched one step closer to the elusive Rockpress Australian Superkart Championship securing pole position at Round 7 of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals. A 1:30.8978 for the Dunlop Kartsport/BRC Engines Anderson-BRC in the first session was enough for Pegoraro to secure pole, there was almost no movement in the second session with the temperature plummeting, clouds closing in and the headwind traveling up the front straight strengthening. Ilya Harpas will start alongside in the Your Amigo/Apex Management Anderson-DEA, the top two in the points starting the same way.

Defending champion Russell Jamieson (Coach Design Anderson-DEA) will start third alongside Kristian Stebbing (Subaurban Accounting Anderson-DEA). Matt Bass (Top Torque Engines Anderson-BRC) and Anton Stevens (Ciscos/Art Motorsport/KPI PVP-FPE) occupy the third row with four of the top six drivers representing Victoria. Sam Zavaglia (Stockman Superkarts Stockman-VM) and Dean McGinty (Lofty Coaches PVP-Yamaha) are next with the PVP-Yamahas of Shannon Novaski and Charles Maddern completing the top ten.

Third in the points race, Jason Akermanis will start a disappointing twelfth in the Supersonic Global Payments Anderson-DEA and multiple Am-Champ champion Stuart Kostera will start 14th in the Denture Professionals Zip-BRC.

Dan Lewis secured his debut pole position in the 250 National division, the Queenslander very happy to be in the 39 bracket at 1:39.3847 in the Lewis Plumbing Racing Anderson-GasGas. He is over a second clear of Martin Latta (MJR Bricklaying Anderson-Yamaha). Reigning champion Dalton Rowell (DLR Racing Stockman-Honda) is 2.7 seconds back in third. Aaron Cogger (Giova Design Anderson-KTM) and Dale Williams (Slipstream Signs Anderson-Yamaha) complete the grid.

125cc class has local Garry Haywood on top in the Ringwood Karting Centre Bakker-Honda. The factory Bakker was 1.8 seconds faster the Tim Philp in the Floth Sustainable Building Consultants Avoig-Honda. Philp sat out qualifying 2 confident that the worsening conditions would not justify the tyre wear of using both sessions. The next five karts were covered by half a second; Jeff Reed (Stockman Superkarts Stockman-Honda), Paul Campbell (Redback Racepaint Avoig-Honda), Lee Vella (L&J Custon Kitchens Avoig-Honda), Mark Robin (In-2-Karts Stockman-Honda) and Lindsay Jamieson (Linra Properties Stockman-Honda).