Smith Wins as Pegoraro Receives Black Flag


Jason Smith has taken his second championship victory as the fortunes swing back towards the young Queenslander after Victorian Gary Pegoraro received a black flag.

Pegoraro was heading for victory in the Dunlop Kartsport/BRC Engines Anderson-BRC when the black flag was displayed for kart #10 for not controlling the field behind the safety car. It was a cruel blow for Pegoraro as he pulled into the pits on the final lap of the race. Subsequently Pegoraro was not classified as a finisher.

The safety car had been called after a collision at turn six on the third lap between 125cc competitors Tim Philp (Floth Building Consulants Avoig-Honda) and Paul Campbell (Redback Racepaint Avoig-Honda) left Philp stopped on the edge of the track. Philp was able to restart although his engine subsequently siezed and his challenge for third in the 125cc division is at an end.

Smith wins Race 3

Smith (Fuji Xerox/Zahl 1 Kartin Anderson-DEA) took a 0.6 second win over the Coach Design Anderson-DEA of Russell Jamieson, with Darren Hossack (Safe Evolutions Anderson-Safe) crossing the line in Jamieson's shadow. The result gives Smith a nine point lead heading into the final race of the championship. A top four finish will see the first Queensland victory in 250 Internationals in 16 years.

Kristian Stebbing again finished fourth in the Suburban Accounting & Taxation Stockman-Yamaha with Ant Basile (Race Tech Motorsports Anderson-BRC) fifth. Martin Latta (Viper Racing/MJR Bricklaying Anderson-FPE) outdragged Brett Purdie (Martelco Equipment Hire PVP-Yamaha) and Dean McGinty (Lofty Coaches PVP-Yamaha) to the line for sixth position. Purdie has slipped behind Russell Jamieson in the battle for fourth in the championship. Stuart Kostera (Denture Professionals Zip-BRC) and Shannon Novaski (Adelaide Timber Supplies PVP-Yamaha) completed the top ten finishers.

Luneman wins 250 National

Brendan Luneman (Soma Building Services/Autobarn Dandenong Anderson-Yamaha) wrapped up the Australian title for 250 National with his win by three tenths of a second over the Anderson-Honda of Bernie Walsh. Joe Tyrrell finished third in the Angel Blue Marketting/Race Tech Motorsport Anderson-Honda and looks set to secure runners'up position.

Jeff Reed (The Chrome Shop/MG Tyres Stockman-Honda) took his third race win after a series of match races against the Top Torque Engines Stockman-Honda of Matt Bass has seen Reed build up a six point lead over Bass. Third in the 125 championship chase is now in the graps of Paul Campbell with Philp out of the running and Garry Haywood struggling in the factory Bakker Superkarts entry.

250 International points: Jason Smith 119, Darren Hossack 110, Gary Pegoraro 96, Russell Jamieson 81, Brett Purdie 79, Kristian Stebbing 66, Martin Latta 57, Warren McIlveen 49, Charles Maddern 35, Ant Basile 30, Josh Barnett 30, Jason Laker 28, Dean McGinty 28, Steve Murray 24, Stuart Kostera 21, Shannon Novaski 17, Sam Zavaglia 10, Darren Kitchen 8, Carlo Chermaz 6, Todd Johnson 4

250 National points: Brendan Luneman 135, Joe Tyrrell 99, Bernie Walsh 80, Dalton Rowell 76, Michael Ward 29, Barry Kunowski 15

125cc points: Jeff Reed 125, Matt Bass 119, Paul Campbell 81, Tim Philp 76, Garry Haywood 70, Doug Amiss 66, Lindsay Jamieson 51, Phil Silcock 51, Brian Wild 47, Sam Zavaglia 41, Stewart Bell 30, Robert Xerri 29, Anthony Lappas 27, Tracey Crawford 22, Drene Jamieson 18

The 2012 Australian Superkart Championship is part of the Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils. Race 4 championship finale will take place at 4pm AEST.

Catch all of the racing on live streaming at:

The twelve lap Race 4 final at 4:00pm.

Look for Superkarts Australia on facebook and @SuperkartsAus on Twitter. Join the Shannons Nationals conversation at #SNQR