Smiths first win as Hossack tangles with McIlveen


Jason Smith has broken through for his first championship win and edged into the lead of the championship after a collision between Darren Hossack and Warren McIlveen sent ripples through the championship.

"Darren and I were racing really hard, I thought I could outbrake him," said McIlveen. "Things happen really quickly under brakes. Darren took the racing line and we hit side-by-side."

McIlveen's Stockman Superkarts/Mac's Marine Stockman-Honda was launched into the air by the collision and the pair left the track into retirement. Hossack's 18 point championship lead was gone. Hossack's Safe Evolutions Anderson-Safe is repairable and will start race 2 although McIlveen is out for the weekend with a bent, but not broken Stockman MR2.

Out front Smith (Fuji Xerox/Zahl 1 Kartin Anderson-DEA) used traffic and numerous yellow flags to advanatage to take his first Australian championship race victory and take a two point lead as well.

Jason Smith leads Race 1

"Qualifying well helps," said Smith tempering the win against the championship battle to come. "The karts performing well. Phillip Island was conservative, but we've turned it up here. Two points is no reason for resting up against Hossack and Gary Pegoraro. Anything can happen."

Gary Pegoraro (Dunlop Kartsport/BRC Engines Anderson-BRC) started strongly to hold second for much of the race and hold out Russell Jamieson (Coach Design Anderson-DEA).

"I'm at the wrong end of the championship," explained the veteran Victorian facing off against the young Queenslander Smith. "There's still more in the package, there's plenty of power in the BRC engine, but the yellow flags limited opportunities and it let Smith get away." Queensland Raceway has been favourable in the past, Pegoraro won the national championship in the 100cc non-gearbox class the last the the nationals visiting Queensland Raceway back in 2000.

Kristian Stebbing (Suburban Accounting & Taxation Stockman-Yamaha) finished a lonely fourth ahead of Brett Purdie (Martelco Equipment Hire PVP-Yamaha), Ant Basile (Race Tech Motorsports Anderson-BRC), Josh Barnett (Angel Blue Marketting Anderson-Honda), Martin Latta (Viper Racing UK/MJR Bricklaying Anderson-FPE), Shannon Novaski (Adelaide Timber Supplies PVP-Yamaha) and Jason Laker (Buildersmile Constructions SKE-FPE).

Bernie Walsh in his Anderson-Honda got the better of championship leader Brendan Luneman (Soma Building/Autobarn Dandenong Anderson-Yamaha) in the 250 National class with Luneman firming his title in the absense of Dalton Rowell.

Zavaglia strong in the Stock-Honda

125s were all tied up after Jeff Reed (The Chrome Shop/MG Tyres Stockman-Honda) turned the tables on his teenage rival Matt Bass (Top Torque Engines Stockman-Honda) to win after the 125cc battle was enlivened by a Paul Campbell (Redback Racepaint Avoig-Honda) spin on the opening lap. Sam Zavaglia in the ProComp Electronic BRM led early in the only Stock-Honda 125 as the field was scrambled by the spin and held on to finish third ahead of Tim Philp (Floth Sustainable Building Avoig-Honda) and Garry Haywood (Bakker Superkarts/Water Tunnel Carwash Stockman-Honda).

The 2012 Australian Superkart Championship will continue on Sunday as part of the Shannons Nationals presented by Hi-Tec Oils.

Catch all of the racing on live streaming at:

Race 3 will be at 11:40am AEST on Sunday August 12, with twelve lap Race 4 final at 4:00pm.

Look for Superkarts Australia on facebook and @SuperkartsAus on Twitter. Join the Shannons Nationals conversation at #SNQR